ND Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners: Applicants for the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) and North Dakota State Licensure

 
Home » Licensing Information » Applicants for the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) and North Dakota State Licensure »

Veterinary Technician Licensure Application Process

Applicants for the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) and North Dakota State Licensure

The minimum prerequisite for taking the VTNE is graduation from an AVMA accredited program in veterinary technology. Candidates who are students in good standing at an accredited program in veterinary technology may be approved by the board to take the national examination for the first time no earlier than six (6) months prior to their expected graduation date.

If you have a documented disability covered under the Americans with Disabilities Act for which you need accommodations, please contact the Board Office 30 days prior to the application deadline.

 

To apply to take the VTNE you must:

  • You must apply directly to AAVSB at www.aavsb.org/application.
  • The VTNE is a computer based test and will be given at Prometric Testing Centers around the US and Canada. To locate a testing center visit www.prometric.com.
  • In order to be approved to take the VTNE you must to be a graduate from an accredited program in veterinary technology. If you are a student, you need to be in good standing at an accredited program in veterinary technology. You may take the VTNE for the first time no earlier than six months prior to your expected graduation date.
  • The fee for the VTNE is $300.00 and must be paid directly to AAVSB.
  • Download the VTNE Candidate Handbook

The VTNE is offered during three testing windows annually.

Exam Window                                       Deadline

March 15 - April 15                                  February 15

July 15 - August 15                                  June 15

November 15 - December 15                   October 15

There is no additional state examination. Once you have passed the VTNE and met all other requirements for licensure, a North Dakota License will be issued.


 

To apply for licensure in North Dakota you must:

  • Fill out the North Dakota Veterinary Technician Application.
  • Enclose the $25.00 state application fee.
  • Obtain the recommendation of a validly licensed veterinarian with their signature on your application.
  • The application must be notarized and must include a recent photograph of yourself.
  • A copy of your diploma is required.
  • If you did not take the VTNE in North Dakota, you will need to request an official score transfer. Contact the AAVSB for more information at www.aavsb.org or 1-877-698-8482.

There is no additional state examination. Once you have passed the VTNE and met all other requirements for licensure, a North Dakota License will be issued.

 

Licensure as a veterinary technician in North Dakota requires a recommendation from a licensed veterinarian and a passing score on the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE).

Please contact the Board office if you have any questions.

 

 

Updated 6/24/2014