MINUTES

NDBVME Regular Meeting

January 17, 2023 - ND Heritage Center

Board	members	in	attendance:
-------	---------	----	-------------

Dr. Tammy Weiand-Ness (via Zoom)

Dr. Carolyn Woodruff

Dr. Russell Behm (via Zoom)

Ms. Janell Morman

Ms. Naomi Day

Others in attendance:

Mr. David Schaibley, Attorney General's Office

Dr. Sara Lyons, NDBVME Executive Secretary (via Zoom)

Dr. Troy Dutton, NDVMA representative

Ms. Miranda Langerud, NDVTA representative

Rachel Cole, AVMA representative (via Zoom)

Warren Hess, AVMA representative (via Zoom)

Meeting called to order at 9am by Dr. Weiand-Ness. All persons listed except Ms. Langerud were in attendance (joined at 9:45am).

Motion by Ms. Morman to approve the agenda as provided with second by Dr. Woodruff. Motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Woodruff proposed the following changes to the minutes from November 1, 2022 – add the words 'confirmed that' between 'and' and 'the' in the first line of paragraph 8 and add the word 'proposed' between 'discussing' and 'revisions' in paragraph 16. Motion by Dr. Woodruff to approve the minutes as amended with second by Dr. Behm. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Dr. Behm to approve the list of veterinary technicians that were granted licensure in 2022 with second by Ms. Morman. Roll call vote passed unanimously.

Motion by Dr. Woodruff to allow an additional 6-month waiver for Dr. Trevor Bjerke to provide documentation of completion of the 24 hours of continuing education that were due June 30, 2022 with second by Dr. Behm. Roll call vote passed unanimously.

A letter of apology and rabies certificates provided by Dr. Vince Stenson as per his settlement agreement were reviewed by the board. Nine of the submitted rabies certificates were missing required information and for that reason the board did not feel that the settlement agreement was fulfilled. Motion by Dr. Woodruff that the board directs counsel to prepare a letter requesting all copies of rabies certificates issued by Dr. Stenson from January 1, 2023 through April 30, 2023 and explanation for the reason that nine of the rabies certificates submitted were incomplete with second by Ms. Day. Roll call vote passed unanimously.

A letter from Dr. Shelley Lenz' attorney regarding the complaint against her and proposed settlement agreement was reviewed. Motion by Ms. Morman to refer to an administrative law judge at this time with second by Dr. Behm. Motion by Dr. Woodruff to amend the original motion to request a disciplinary hearing with an administrative law judge for the complaint against Dr. Shelley Lenz by Katharine Novotny based on reasonable basis to believe that violations to 43-29-14(1)(d), 43-29-14(1)(i) and 87-05-02-01(10)(from the administrative rules in effect prior to April 2022) occurred with second by Ms. Day. Roll call vote on the amendment to the original motion passed unanimously. Roll call vote on the original motion passed unanimously.

A letter from Mr. Jamie Novotny regarding the complaint against Dr. Jessie Evoniuk was reviewed.

The board discussed proposed revisions to the North Dakota Century Code Chapter 43-29. Dr. Weiand-Ness opened the discussion and welcomed comments from the NDVMA, NDVTA and AVMA representatives in attendance.

Meeting adjourned for lunch at 12:13pm.

Meeting reconvened at 1:03pm.

The board continued discussion on proposed revisions to the North Dakota Century Code Chapter 43-29.

Motion by Dr. Behm to nominate Dr. Weiand-Ness to serve as president for 2023 with second by Dr. Woodruff. Roll call vote passed unanimously.

Motion by Dr. Woodruff to nominate Ms. Morman to serve as secretary for 2023 with second by Dr. Behm. Roll call vote passed unanimously.

Special meetings were scheduled for March 10, 2023 and August 8, 2023.

Motion by Ms. Day to adjourn the meeting at 4:55pm with second by Dr. Behm. Motion passed unanimously.

Submitted by:

Sara Lyons, DVM

NDBVME Executive Secretary