Veterinary Technician Licensure Application Process
Applicants for the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) and North Dakota State Licensure
The Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) is sponsored by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (aavsb.org).
If you have a documented disability covered under the Americans with Disabilities Act for which you need accommodations, contact the AAVSB office 30 days prior to the application deadline.
To apply to take the VTNE you must:
- Apply directly through the AAVSB at www.aavsb.org.
- Be a graduate from an accredited program in veterinary technology. If you are a student, you need to be in good standing at an accredited program in veterinary technology. For purposes of licensure in North Dakota, you may take the VTNE for the first time no earlier than six months prior to your expected graduation date.
- Pay the fee for the VTNE, currently $320.00, directly to AAVSB.
- Download the VTNE Candidate Handbook
The VTNE is offered during three testing windows annually.
Exam Window Deadline
March 15 - April 15 February 15
July 15 - August 15 June 15
November 15 - December 15 October 15
To apply for licensure in North Dakota you must:
- Fill out the North Dakota Veterinary Technician Application.
- Enclose the $25.00 state application fee.
- Obtain the recommendation of a validly licensed veterinarian with their signature on your application.
- The application must be notarized and must include a recent photograph of yourself.
- A copy of your diploma is required.
- If you listed North Dakota on your VTNE application, our office will receive your official score report. If you did not indicate on your VTNE application that you were applying through North Dakota, you will need to request and pay for an official score transfer. Contact the AAVSB for more information at www.aavsb.org or 1-877-698-8482.
Licensure as a veterinary technician in North Dakota requires a recommendation from a licensed veterinarian and a passing score on the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE).
There is no additional state examination. Once you have passed the VTNE and met all other requirements for licensure, a North Dakota License will be issued.
Please contact the Board office if you have any questions.